Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5
Results 81 to 98 of 98

  Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.   Thread: Compiling a mod under GNU/Linux

  1. #81

    Re: Compiling a mod under GNU/Linux

    My tutorial that will come soon runs on windows + virtual box image... for me this works fine

  2. #82
    Occasionally AFK
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    't looks like a room
    Posts
    4,437
    Most Recent Awards:

    Re: Compiling a mod under GNU/Linux

    Ah, so your are cheating (a bit) by using VirtualBox.

    But please do continue, I'd be interested to see how you get the right GNU C-lib version nowadays.
    "Respect is everything" - GTA2
    "Notheeeeeng is final." - Bongoboy

  3. #83
    Answering machine stealth6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Uhm... Chair?
    Posts
    3,913
    Most Recent Awards:

    Re: Compiling a mod under GNU/Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by kamikazee View Post
    Ah, so your are cheating (a bit) by using VirtualBox.

    But please do continue, I'd be interested to see how you get the right GNU C-lib version nowadays.
    lol I'd hardly call virtual box cheating... actually a pretty effective way of solving the problem.

  4. #84
    Occasionally AFK
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    't looks like a room
    Posts
    4,437
    Most Recent Awards:

    Re: Compiling a mod under GNU/Linux

    Sorry to pull this off-topic.

    It was just that he claimed he could compile .so files on Windows when I said he could not. Running Linux in a virtual machine still means you need to deal with that tiny bit of Linux.

    Anyway, not going to continue about this gray area, we were both right on our own terms. I applaud him for writing a tutorial where there was none before.
    "Respect is everything" - GTA2
    "Notheeeeeng is final." - Bongoboy

  5. #85

    Re: Compiling a mod under GNU/Linux

    so there is not yet some step-by-step tutorial available ?
    after some maps i want to dedicate myself to a small mod now, but first of all i want to be able to compile myself (cant test else)
    1869*_Clanpage
    _____________________
    first map: Rocketrun_Final (newbing map)
    Second map: Steal_V1 (better)
    3rd map: Artic_gun...sweet =)...
    4rd map: Al_Abbasi...nice =)...
    NEW Outer Space (Released)
    _____________________

  6. #86
    Tapir Stalker nUllSkillZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    http://www.kronberg.de/
    Posts
    3,579
    Most Recent Awards:

    Re: Compiling a mod under GNU/Linux

    I've written one several years ago in german for the German Ubuntu wiki.
    http://wiki.ubuntuusers.de/Spiele/Wo...ritory/Modding

  7. #87

    Re: Compiling a mod under GNU/Linux

    i can understand german for a word or 2.
    i'lkl just PM you when i run into problems =)
    1869*_Clanpage
    _____________________
    first map: Rocketrun_Final (newbing map)
    Second map: Steal_V1 (better)
    3rd map: Artic_gun...sweet =)...
    4rd map: Al_Abbasi...nice =)...
    NEW Outer Space (Released)
    _____________________

  8. #88

    Re: Compiling a mod under GNU/Linux

    I don't see it mentioned anywhere, so for the benefit of anyone wanting to compile on 64-bit Linux, before doing...

    Code:
    scons -c
    scons
    Change line 226 of Sconstruct to :

    Code:
    BASECPPFLAGS = [ "-m32" ]
    and line 231 to :

    Code:
    BASELINKFLAGS = [ "-m32" ]
    This sets 32-bit linker and compiler flags.

  9. #89
    Answering machine stealth6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Uhm... Chair?
    Posts
    3,913
    Most Recent Awards:

    Re: Compiling a mod under GNU/Linux

    I'm trying to compile a mod on macosx (macbook). I've gotten as far that the mod compiles, but when I try to bundle it with makebundle.sh it gets stuck this is what it says in the log:

    Code:
    Install file: "build/release/game/libqagame.so" as "qagame.mp.i386.so"
    Install file: "build/release/cgame/libcgame.so" as "cgame.mp.i386.so"
    Install file: "build/release/ui/libui.so" as "ui.mp.i386.so"
    make_bundle(["build_bundle"], ["qagame.mp.i386.so", "cgame.mp.i386.so", "ui.mp.i386.so"])
    ./makebundle.sh qagame.mp.i386.so
    Missing qagame.mp.i386.so.mp.ppc.so
    ./makebundle.sh cgame.mp.i386.so
    Missing cgame.mp.i386.so.mp.ppc.so
    ./makebundle.sh ui.mp.i386.so
    Missing ui.mp.i386.so.mp.ppc.so
    scons: done building targets.
    I'm not sure but I was thinking that the makebundle.sh is out of date? I was looking around and I think this is caused because the newer macbooks have a different cpu? i686-apple-darwin9 instead of power pc or something.
    Anybody know how to get past this? (getting an old version of mac is not an option)

  10. #90

    Re: Compiling a mod under GNU/Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by stealth6 View Post
    I'm trying to compile a mod on macosx (macbook). I've gotten as far that the mod compiles, but when I try to bundle it with makebundle.sh it gets stuck this is what it says in the log:

    Code:
    Install file: "build/release/game/libqagame.so" as "qagame.mp.i386.so"
    Install file: "build/release/cgame/libcgame.so" as "cgame.mp.i386.so"
    Install file: "build/release/ui/libui.so" as "ui.mp.i386.so"
    make_bundle(["build_bundle"], ["qagame.mp.i386.so", "cgame.mp.i386.so", "ui.mp.i386.so"])
    ./makebundle.sh qagame.mp.i386.so
    Missing qagame.mp.i386.so.mp.ppc.so
    ./makebundle.sh cgame.mp.i386.so
    Missing cgame.mp.i386.so.mp.ppc.so
    ./makebundle.sh ui.mp.i386.so
    Missing ui.mp.i386.so.mp.ppc.so
    scons: done building targets.
    I'm not sure but I was thinking that the makebundle.sh is out of date? I was looking around and I think this is caused because the newer macbooks have a different cpu? i686-apple-darwin9 instead of power pc or something.
    Anybody know how to get past this? (getting an old version of mac is not an option)
    A answer of this would really be appreciated!

  11. #91

    Re: Compiling a mod under GNU/Linux

    makebundle only makes the archive pk3. So if you got till there - you could make that also manually.

    Its difficult, as I do not know which files / version you used. Is it this: http://gitorious.org/enemy-territory.../makebundle.sh ?

    But there is one discrepancy in the log:
    Code:
    ./makebundle.sh qagame.mp.i386.so
    Missing qagame.mp.i386.so.mp.ppc.so
    Its somehow looking for ppc, even though you use a intel mac.
    Why not use an old mac? If you use a new mac you can only have compatibility to Intel, else you could have both.

  12. #92

    Re: Compiling a mod under GNU/Linux

    I have only a Intel mac. But I am trying to solve this, as I really need mac support for my mod. But any information regarding mac would be helpful!

  13. #93
    Senior Member (Velocity)
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    234
    Most Recent Awards:

    Re: Compiling a mod under GNU/Linux

    @ whoever...

    I have a linux appliance preconfigured and ready to compile older glibc (compatible with gameservers.com). All you have to do is install vmware.

    @ Shownie
    I assume you have kaliway hackintosh or made mac install on intel clone, but regardless of mac, intel mac, hackintosh you can compile mac binaries just the same. Is it OSX 10.5?
    Last edited by cheesy; 21st Mar 2012 at 19:11.

  14. #94
    Senior Member (Velocity)
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    234
    Most Recent Awards:

    Re: Compiling a mod under GNU/Linux

    Instructions for MAC compile (used for etpub, ecsmod, and mad warfare)

    Prepare a new mac for compile
    Tested on Mac OSX 10.5 (MAC, Intel-MAC, Hackintosh, and VMware)
    1) install latest scons
    2) install "xcode dev tools" for OSX 10.5 version
    Thats it, do NOT install mac ports or darwin ports because the ET binaries will not work correctly and this is not needed.

    Syntax used for MAC compile
    cd path/trunk/src
    scons -c

    cgame:
    sudo scons BUILD=release BUILDBUNDLE=1 DEDICATED=0 TARGET_GAME=0 TARGET_CGAME=1 TARGET_UI=0 WITH_LUA_SUPPORT=0
    ui:
    sudo scons BUILD=release BUILDBUNDLE=1 DEDICATED=0 TARGET_GAME=0 TARGET_CGAME=0 TARGET_UI=1 WITH_LUA_SUPPORT=0

    Compressing the MAC Binary
    now that you compiled, you must find the binary, and compress it (i.e. winzip or 7zip), then remove the .zip extention
    Drop it in your client.pk3 and done!
    Last edited by cheesy; 21st Mar 2012 at 21:38.

  15. #95
    Answering machine stealth6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Uhm... Chair?
    Posts
    3,913
    Most Recent Awards:

    Re: Compiling a mod under GNU/Linux

    Cool that you posted how to do it, unfortunately the project I needed it for isn't active anymore.

  16. #96
    Senior Member (Velocity)
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    234
    Most Recent Awards:

    Re: Compiling a mod under GNU/Linux

    It was mainly for Shownie posted Today, 09:22 ...

  17. #97

    Re: Compiling a mod under GNU/Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by cheesy View Post
    It was mainly for Shownie posted Today, 09:22 ...
    I will take a look at this asap! Many thanks for the response!

  18. #98

    Re: Compiling a mod under GNU/Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by ailmanki View Post
    makebundle only makes the archive pk3. So if you got till there - you could make that also manually.

    Its difficult, as I do not know which files / version you used. Is it this: http://gitorious.org/enemy-territory.../makebundle.sh ?

    But there is one discrepancy in the log:
    Code:
    ./makebundle.sh qagame.mp.i386.so
    Missing qagame.mp.i386.so.mp.ppc.so
    Its somehow looking for ppc, even though you use a intel mac.
    Why not use an old mac? If you use a new mac you can only have compatibility to Intel, else you could have both.
    How do you bundle, manually ?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •