Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 37

Thread: Wolfenstein won't continue - Mac

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    18

    Wolfenstein won't continue - Mac

    Being an old ET fan on my PC. I now want to revive it on my Mac.

    Downloaded, installed and tried to start up. however....

    The error I am getting is:

    Wolfenstein cannot continue.

    Couldn't load default.cfg - I am missing essential files - verify your installation?

    Below is another window listing path and stating 0 files in pkg files.

    I have also attached a screenshot of the errors. https://ibb.co/b0zgk5

    Can someone help, please?

    Kind regards

    Percy
    Last edited by PercyP; 18th Jun 2017 at 19:19.

  2. #2
    Senior Member WuTangH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Seas of cheese
    Posts
    131
    Most Recent Awards:

    Re: Wolfenstein won't continue - Mac

    Did you try ET:Legacy?
    It is the most updated version of ET, and supports most of Mac versions.

    Check it out here: https://www.etlegacy.com/

    If you will have any problems, you can join Legacy Discord channel for faster help
    https://discord.gg/nGVpDvR

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    18

    Re: Wolfenstein won't continue - Mac

    Thanks for your reply.

    I just downloaded and installed. upon start up, the error I am getting is....

    https://ibb.co/hHy5dQ

    any suggestions?

  4. #4

    Re: Wolfenstein won't continue - Mac

    Hello there, PercyP
    The error message is pretty straight forward. You are missing the mentioned pk3 files. Normally the ET: Legacy installer should've asked you whether you want to install omnibot and W:ET assets. I'm assuming you unticked the checkbox?
    To solve this you need to put the mentioned pk3 in the shown directory. You can get those files by either installing the old 2.60b game and movibg them manually or you reinstall ET: Legacy and leave the checkboxes ticked.

    I hope I understood that problem correctly. If that does not help, please post again

    Cheers

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    18

    Re: Wolfenstein won't continue - Mac

    Hi KeMoN,

    Thank you for for your reply.

    I have solved the error by moving the files. However, now i am getting another error.

    Here is the screenshot https://ibb.co/g0ptYQ

    I hope you can help me with this.

    Many thanks and kind regards

    Percy

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    18

    Re: Wolfenstein won't continue - Mac

    I've managed to solve the error...However, whenever i try to enter a server/game...i get this error...

    https://ibb.co/gX0THk

    Thanks

    Percy

  7. #7

    Re: Wolfenstein won't continue - Mac

    Oh man, that's a really unlucky return, but I hope you won't let that get in the way of your motivation to play the game

    Could you do me a favour and post the crashlog.txt? It always helps to sort out the issue in your case. Thank you.

    Cheers

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    18

    Re: Wolfenstein won't continue - Mac

    Hi

    I really do want to play the game.

    Here is the crashlog. <a href=http://www.filedropper.com/crashlog><img src=http://www.filedropper.com/download_button.png width=127 height=145 border=0/></a><br /><div style=font-size:9px;font-family:Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;width:127px;font-color:#44a854;> <a href=http://www.filedropper.com >online backup</a></div>

    Hope you can help.

    Kind regards

    Percy

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    18

    Re: Wolfenstein won't continue - Mac

    ET Legacy v2.75 MacOS_X Sep 13 2016
    Zone megs: 64
    Info: fs_game now defaults to 'legacy' mod instead of 'etmain'
    ----- FS_Startup -----
    Current search path:
    /Users/Pursotam/Library/Application Support/etlegacy/legacy
    /Users/Pursotam/Library/Application Support/etlegacy/legacy/pak2.pk3 (22 files)
    /Users/Pursotam/Library/Application Support/etlegacy/legacy/pak1.pk3 (10 files)
    /Users/Pursotam/Library/Application Support/etlegacy/legacy/pak0.pk3 (3725 files)
    /Applications/ET Legacy/legacy
    /Applications/ET Legacy/legacy/pak3_v2.75.pk3 (951 files)
    /Applications/ET Legacy/legacy/etl_bin_v2.75.pk3 (8 files)
    /Users/Pursotam/Library/Application Support/etlegacy/etmain
    /Applications/ET Legacy/etmain

    ----------------------
    4716 files in pk3 files
    WARNING: profile.pid found for profile 'BIGBOY' - system settings will revert to defaults
    Creating PID file 'profiles/BIGBOY/profile.pid'
    execing default.cfg
    execing profiles/BIGBOY/etconfig.cfg
    s_initsound is unsafe. Check com_crashed.
    r_ext_multisample is unsafe. Check com_crashed.
    r_ignorehwgamma is unsafe. Check com_crashed.
    r_colorbits is unsafe. Check com_crashed.
    r_depthbits is unsafe. Check com_crashed.
    r_stencilbits is unsafe. Check com_crashed.
    r_mode is unsafe. Check com_crashed.
    r_texturebits is unsafe. Check com_crashed.
    r_ext_texture_filter_anisotropic is unsafe. Check com_crashed.
    r_ext_multitexture is unsafe. Check com_crashed.
    r_ext_compressed_textures is unsafe. Check com_crashed.
    r_allowExtensions is unsafe. Check com_crashed.
    couldn't exec autoexec.cfg
    Hunk_Clear: reset the hunk ok
    Not logging server attacks to disk.
    ----- Client Initialization -----
    ----- Initializing Renderer ----
    Trying to load "librenderer_opengl1_mac" from "/Applications/ET Legacy"...
    -------------------------------
    ETKEY found.
    Available client translations: Czech German Greek English Esperanto Spanish Finnish French Italian Korean Dutch Norwegian Polish Portuguese Romanian Russian Slovak Slovenian
    Available mod translations: Czech German Greek English Esperanto Spanish Finnish French Italian Korean Dutch Norwegian Polish Portuguese Romanian Russian Slovak Slovenian
    Language set to English
    ----- Client Initialization Complete -----
    ----- R_Init -----
    SDL build version 2.0.4 - link version 2.0.4.
    SDL initialized driver "cocoa"
    Initializing OpenGL display
    Estimated display aspect: 1.778
    ...setting mode -2: 2560x1440
    Using 24 color bits, 24 depth, 0 stencil display.
    Available modes [20]: '960x540 1024x576 1280x720 1344x756 1440x810 1600x900 1920x1080 2048x1152 2560x1440 2880x1620 3200x1800 4096x2304 5120x2880 840x524 960x600 640x480 800x600 1024x768 1600x1200 1280x1024'
    Using GLEW 2.0.0
    GL_VENDOR: ATI Technologies Inc.
    GL_RENDERER: AMD Radeon R9 M295X OpenGL Engine
    GL_VERSION: 2.1 ATI-1.51.8
    Using vanilla renderer
    Initializing OpenGL extensions
    ...found OpenGL extension - GL_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc
    ...found OpenGL extension - GL_EXT_texture_env_add
    ...found OpenGL extension - GL_ARB_multitexture

    ------- Input Initialization -------
    ...game controller disabled by cvar setting
    ------------------------------------
    GL_MAX_TEXTURE_SIZE: 16384
    GL_MAX_ACTIVE_TEXTURES_ARB: 8
    PIXELFORMAT: color(24-bits) Z(24-bit) stencil(0-bits)
    MODE: -2, SCREEN: 2560 x 1440 fullscreen (ratio 1.7778) Hz:N/A
    GAMMA: hardware w/ 0 overbright bits
    rendering primitives: multiple glArrayElement
    texturemode: GL_LINEAR_MIPMAP_NEAREST
    picmip: 2
    texture bits: 0
    multitexture: enabled
    compiled vertex arrays: disabled
    texenv add: enabled
    compressed textures: enabled
    Initializing Shaders
    R_Init: glGetError() = 0x500
    ----- finished R_Init -----
    ------ Initializing Sound (1)------
    SDL_Init( SDL_INIT_AUDIO )... OK
    SDL audio driver is "coreaudio".
    SDL_AudioSpec:
    Format: AUDIO_S16LSB
    Freq: 44100
    Samples: 1024
    Channels: 2
    Silence: 0
    Size: 4096
    Starting SDL audio callback...
    SDL audio initialized.
    ----- Sound Info -----
    sound system is muted
    1 stereo
    32768 samples
    16 samplebits
    1 submission_chunk
    44100 speed
    0x7aa44000 dma buffer
    No background file.
    ----------------------
    Sound initialization successfully done
    s_backend set to SDL2
    --------------------------------
    Sound memory manager started
    Sys_LoadGameDll -> FS_CL_ExtractFromPakFile(/Users/Pursotam/Library/Application Support/etlegacy, legacy, ui_mac)
    Sys_LoadDll -> Sys_TryLibraryLoad(/Users/Pursotam/Library/Application Support/etlegacy, legacy, ui_mac)...
    -- Trying zipped .bundle... failed. (Not a valid zip).
    -- Trying extension-less dylib... succeeded
    Sys_LoadDll(legacy/ui) found vmMain function at 0x32790b60
    Initializing Legacy ui v2.75
    145 UI cvars in use.
    Total favourite servers restored: 0
    ... DBMS is disabled
    --- Common Initialization Complete ---
    IP: 127.0.0.1
    IP: 192.168.1.5
    Opening IP socket: 0.0.0.0:27960
    Network initialized.
    tty console mode disabled
    MOTD: resolving motd.etlegacy.com... resolved to 5.135.27.11:27951
    NET_AdrToString: Unknown address type: 0
    Requesting servers from the master etmaster.idsoftware.com (192.246.40.60:27950)...
    Requesting servers from the master master.etlegacy.com (5.135.27.11:27950)...
    CL_ServersResponsePacket
    99 servers parsed (total 99)
    CL_ServersResponsePacket
    99 servers parsed (total 198)
    CL_ServersResponsePacket
    99 servers parsed (total 297)
    CL_ServersResponsePacket
    99 servers parsed (total 396)
    CL_ServersResponsePacket
    78 servers parsed (total 474)
    50 servers listed in browser with 3647 players.
    424 servers not listed (filtered out by game browser settings)
    MOTD: resolving motd.etlegacy.com... resolved to 5.135.27.11:27951
    27.50.71.14:27960 resolved to 27.50.71.14:27960
    Connected to a pure server.
    ERROR: Missing/corrupt official pak file etmain/pak2
    ERROR: Missing/corrupt official pak file etmain/pak1
    ERROR: Missing/corrupt official pak file etmain/pak0
    ********************
    ERROR: Couldn't load an official pak file; verify your installation and make sure it has been updated to the latest version.
    ********************
    Sys_LoadGameDll -> FS_CL_ExtractFromPakFile(/Users/Pursotam/Library/Application Support/etlegacy, etnam, ui_mac)
    Sys_LoadDll -> Sys_TryLibraryLoad(/Users/Pursotam/Library/Application Support/etlegacy, etnam, ui_mac)...
    -- Trying zipped .bundle... failed. (Not a valid zip).
    -- Trying extension-less dylib... failed: "Failed loading /Users/Pursotam/Library/Application Support/etlegacy/etnam/ui_mac: dlopen(/Users/Pursotam/Library/Application Support/etlegacy/etnam/ui_mac, 6): image not found"
    -- Trying dylib with extension... failed: "Failed loading /Users/Pursotam/Library/Application Support/etlegacy/etnam/ui_mac.dylib: dlopen(/Users/Pursotam/Library/Application Support/etlegacy/etnam/ui_mac.dylib, 6): image not found"
    Sys_LoadDll -> Sys_TryLibraryLoad(/Applications/ET Legacy, etnam, ui_mac)...
    -- Trying zipped .bundle... failed. (Not a valid zip).
    -- Trying extension-less dylib... failed: "Failed loading /Applications/ET Legacy/etnam/ui_mac: dlopen(/Applications/ET Legacy/etnam/ui_mac, 6): image not found"
    -- Trying dylib with extension... failed: "Failed loading /Users/Pursotam/Library/Application Support/etlegacy/etnam/ui_mac.dylib: dlopen(/Users/Pursotam/Library/Application Support/etlegacy/etnam/ui_mac.dylib, 6): image not found"
    Sys_LoadDll(etnam/ui) failed to load library
    recursive error 'VM_Create on UI failed' after: Couldn't load an official pak file; verify your installation and make sure it has been updated to the latest version.

  10. #10

    Re: Wolfenstein won't continue - Mac

    I need to go on a rant on this (not sorry, sry)

    I know most legacy devs wont read this, but this is why ET dies mostly. You, legacy devs, claimed to make it all stable, make it playable on all OSs. Now years later ... this here, when you read this thread, is the problem why there are no new players since ages. Players getting error message after error message, and you still did not fix this?

    I mean i am a huge bs guy with this post right here, but it is so deserving, believe me. You better not make any claims any more, legacy team. This is the utmost rediculous thing ever. Claim you do something, then leave everything in shards. Clean it up boys. I regret downloading your legacy **** internet installer really. It is all so ****ty really.

    Srry, but this made me go on a rant. You better not proclaim a ****ty addition to ET when it simply does not work. Just my opinion. And i am not sorry for calling it out like this. This is rediculous, legacy team, get your asses up or delete your project.
    ... up and online

  11. #11

    Re: Wolfenstein won't continue - Mac

    First of all, its OSX which has bad support on the project (I am the only one with an apple machine and I only compile it), next if you think it's so bad then you can try to help. People being really negative at people who work on this stuff for FREE does not help nor somehow magically make devs care more about the/your issues (quite the opposite).

    Also calling for the closing of the project is pretty tasteless.

  12. #12

    Re: Wolfenstein won't continue - Mac

    Most recent releases of macOS have serious compatibility issues with native games. Some of them caused by SDL. I am really not sure but you may want to check this:

    https://steamcommunity.com/app/20090...90648078209344

  13. #13

    Re: Wolfenstein won't continue - Mac

    I am a Windows user, and i get the same when i use Legacy, it is not a Mac compatibility problem with SDL.

    Test your stuff. Why would i even need to go in your Discord and paste error logs. This is not needed. Just start up legacy, and wander around some servers, go and download stuff, different mods, you will see it for yourself. You have a very broken release currently, and i so regret giving it a chance some months ago.

    Also, why should i come and help. I did in the past, and it gave me nothing, not even the feeling of appreciation. And you sound pretty worn out too, when you have to explicitly mention that you do it for FREE.

    Well, i know full well that the style of my writing about this is not good, but nothing will change anyway, as you said. So i am not trying to start a drama here, i just had a bad drink yesterday, and i simply wrote that. But surprisingly, i like my writing even now that i am sober
    ... up and online

  14. #14

    Re: Wolfenstein won't continue - Mac

    I feel like you missed the point. We simply don't have the people and time to do&test everything, but people try their best. Please don't come at people with "fix your ****" mentality because that does nothing more than hurt the whole project.

    I could go on about this, but I'll just leave it.

  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    18

    Re: Wolfenstein won't continue - Mac

    Is anyone gonna help me get on the game? lol

  16. #16

    Re: Wolfenstein won't continue - Mac

    It seems to me that the game still has trouble with those pak0 pak1 and pak2 in 'etmain' directory.
    I see you are trying to connect to an ETNam server. Could you try another server and see if that works?
    I just want to see if it is related to the ETNam mod. Please try this NoQuarter server: http://et.splatterladder.com/?mod=serverinfo&idx=759676

    Cheers

  17. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    18

    Re: Wolfenstein won't continue - Mac

    No. it doesn't work.

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    18

    Re: Wolfenstein won't continue - Mac

    I appreciate your attempts in helping me....

  19. #19

    Re: Wolfenstein won't continue - Mac

    Hm, judging from the error message the game either can't find those three paks (/etmain/pak0, /pak1 and /pak2) OR it finds them, however they are corrupt. I remember that they initially were missing, did you reinstall ET: Legacy or where did you get them from?

    The directory where you installed ET: Legacy to should look like this:
    directory.PNG
    And the etmain folder in that directory should look like this:
    etmain.PNG

  20. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    18

    Re: Wolfenstein won't continue - Mac

    I am on Mac. So it is slightly different. i have the two etmain and legacy folders in y directory. Within etmain i have one file called etkey... and in the legacy folder i have these: crashlog.txt, pak0.pkg3, pak1.pk3, pak2.pk3, ui_mac, and two folders named profiles and video.

    Where am i going wrong? :\

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •