Two questions

(Mr_Tickles) #1

These may be simple to answer, but i am new to mapping so please bear with me.

1. How do you make lights coloured? I tried entering the key as “color”, and the value as “0 0 255” hopefully to get red. The light comes out as white in game. There wasn’t a description of how to do it in the notes in the entity window.

2. I’m having a problem with a chain linked fence. The alpha texture i’m using on it gives the dual texture plane effect when the alpha brush meets a pillar. How do you guys cure that? I thought about making the brush 0.25 thick to reduce the size of the plane in contact with the pillar but that still leaves the problem, just slightly less of it. I tried caulking it but that doesn’t seem to work.

Any ideas?

(neotic) #2
  1. for colors; well i’m not sure what is going on in your case… but you might be causing problems in the way you are doing it or the process. click your light entity and hit “k” and you will get a color pallatte and it will do everything for you. try that.

2. sounds to me like you have the entire brush covered with the alpha texture. instead; make the entire brush covered with “nodraw” shader and only one face have hte alpha texture you want. so you see the alpha texture and every other face won’t be drawn… or invisible.

(Java.Lang) #3

Yes, something you may have over looked which many mappers do when starting out, is that all your brushes should be made of caulk (for example).
Caulk would be the standard (common) brush shader on all of your brushes for normal structural/detail brushes.

Let’s say you are making a square building, really simple, just a square building. Instead of making that square the texture you want it to be, make it caulk.